Book Review: The City Baker's Guide to Country Living by Louise Miller

Book Review: The City Baker's Guide to Country Living by Louise Miller


Rating: 4/5 
Book Description:

A full-hearted novel about a big-city baker who discovers the true meaning of home—and that sometimes the best things are found when you didn’t even know you were looking

When Olivia Rawlings—pastry chef extraordinaire for an exclusive Boston dinner club—sets not just her flambĂ©ed dessert but the entire building alight, she escapes to the most comforting place she can think of—the idyllic town of Guthrie, Vermont, home of Bag Balm, the country’s longest-running contra dance, and her best friend Hannah. But the getaway turns into something more lasting when Margaret Hurley, the cantankerous, sweater-set-wearing owner of the Sugar Maple Inn, offers Livvy a job. Broke and knowing that her days at the club are numbered, Livvy accepts.

Livvy moves with her larger-than-life, uber enthusiastic dog, Salty, into a sugarhouse on the inn’s property and begins creating her mouthwatering desserts for the residents of Guthrie. She soon uncovers the real reason she has been hired—to help Margaret reclaim the inn’s blue ribbon status at the annual county fair apple pie contest.

With the joys of a fragrant kitchen, the sound of banjos and fiddles being tuned in a barn, and the crisp scent of the orchard just outside the front door, Livvy soon finds herself immersed in small-town life. And when she meets Martin McCracken, the Guthrie native who has returned from Seattle to tend his ailing father, Livvy comes to understand that she may not be as alone in this world as she once thought.

But then another new arrival takes the community by surprise, and Livvy must decide whether to do what she does best and flee—or stay and finally discover what it means to belong. Olivia Rawlings may finally find out that the life you want may not be the one you expected—it could be even better.

Review:

I saw this book recommended for fans of Gilmore Girls, and I'm always up for a Gilmore Girl's type read. I love small-town living, and I love the uniqueness of small-town communities. When Olivia comes to Vermont and decides to take a job near her best friend, I was all on board with her moving, she has no immediate family and her best friend Hannah is the only constant person in her life. Olivia seemed to be really stuck personally in her life even though she has great potential with her career. The Inn really comes alive with Olivia working there, and the secondary characters are so fun. 

This book was a warm and wonderful read, it does have a Gilmore Girl's feel to it. The quirky characters, the small town connections between people, and of course a romance. Martin McCraken has come home to take care of his ailing father and meets Olivia. I really enjoyed their romance, I loved the close relationship that Olivia has with Martin's parents. She really starts to settle into the town and realizes that she might not have to be so alone in this world. Her dog, absolutely adorable. The descriptions of her pastries are mouth-watering and delightful. I will say I was hoping for more between Olivia and her best friend Hannah, we don't see Hannah that much once Olivia starts working at the Inn. 

This was Louise Miller's debut book, and she does have a second book called The Late Bloomer's Club. I'll be adding that one to my wishlist. I wonder if some of these characters will pop up in the second book. I really enjoyed the writing style in this book, it was perfect during the cold winter months. I was excited to pick up this book and return to the characters. If you like small-towns atmospheres or romances I would recommend this book. 

*This post does contain affiliate links. Thanks for supporting this blog.

No comments